Lowndes breaks all-time win record

Craig Lowndes has taken his 91st race victory in race 10 of the Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars Championship, drawing clear of Mark Skaife on the all-time win tally.

Craig Lowndes

Lowndes finished second to Jamie Whincup in the first leg, before making what would prove to be the winning move two laps into Leg 2.

The victory is also the 100th for Triple Eight and, with Whincup second, the first one-two in its Red Bull Racing Australia guise.

Mark Winterbottom’s FPR Falcon looked after its tyres superbly in both legs, allowing the #5 Ford to overtake Jason Bright for third in the closing stages.

Alex Davison, Alexandre Premat, David Reynolds, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen and James Moffat completed the top 10.

Fabian Coulthard came home 27th after popping a tyre and spearing off while running fifth in the closing stages.

Will Davison had a tyre failure of his own in the first leg, but managed to recover to 14th by the end of Leg 2 – one place ahead of standout rookie Chaz Mostert.

Davison’s troubles have seen Whincup take over the points lead after 10 races.

Another to strike difficulty was Scott Pye, who found himself sliding sideways through the grass – and becoming momentarily airborne – after turning himself around in a three-wide squeeze with Rick Kelly and Garth Tander.

The hastily repaired Ekol Holden returned for the second leg, eventually finishing a lap down after a mechanical black flag for loose bodywork.

Rick Kelly was also a lap down after pitting with a flat tyre, the spate of which appeared to have been caused for running wide over the Turn 5 exit kerb.

Maro Engel gradually fell back from his Leg 1 starting position of ninth to take the flag 24th.

Tim Slade finished as the top Mercedes with a solid run to 13th – three places behind top Nissan runner James Moffat.

Garth Tander struck trouble early in Leg 1 – running through the Turn 7 sand trap after an incident involving Jonathon Webb and Tim Blanchard that will be investigated post-race.

Races 11 and 12 will complete the Chill Perth 360 on Sunday.

Facebook Twitter Myspace del.icio.us Digg StumbleUpon

Leave a Comment

Tell us what you're thinking...

* (denotes required field)